The evidence position
That is a limitation of the evidence available to this review—not proof that the product cannot have any effect. It means we cannot responsibly attach a guaranteed result, success percentage or recovery timeline to it.
Four kinds of information—and why they differ
Label information
Shows what the artwork says is included. It does not independently confirm potency or purity.
Ingredient research
Studies a particular dose, form and population. It may not evaluate the product sold here.
Finished-product research
Tests the actual commercial formula. This is the missing bridge in the materials supplied.
Customer experiences
Can describe an individual’s experience. Without verification and controls, they do not establish cause or typical results.
Why AREDS2 is not a shortcut to a Visium Pro claim
AREDS2 is research on a defined nutrient formulation for particular stages of age-related macular degeneration (AMD). It is not a trial of Visium Pro and does not establish that every eye supplement benefits healthy adults. NEI: AREDS2
Visium Pro’s provided label does not disclose separate lutein and zeaxanthin amounts, and several listed vitamin and mineral amounts differ from the AREDS2 formulation. It should not be substituted for a clinician-recommended AREDS2 supplement. See the formula comparison. Label source
Use the lutein and zeaxanthin evidence guide to see why quantities and complete formulations matter when translating research to a label.
Which clinical studies are relevant—and what do they actually show?
The following are selected relevant studies, not an exhaustive systematic review. The PubMed identifiers and abstracts were checked for this revision. Where a full paper was not accessible, the summary is limited to the indexed abstract. No study below tested the finished Visium Pro formula, and the study doses are not personal dosing instructions.
AREDS2 randomized trial (2013)
- Who was studied?
- 4,203 adults aged 50–85 at elevated risk of advanced age-related macular degeneration (AMD).
- What was tested?
- Lutein 10 mg + zeaxanthin 2 mg; DHA 350 mg + EPA 650 mg; combinations or placebo, on an AREDS background.
- What did it find?
- The primary comparisons did not show a statistically significant additional reduction in advanced AMD from adding either combination. The findings supported considering lutein/zeaxanthin instead of beta carotene.
- What does that mean for Visium Pro?
- This was a defined AMD population and a specific formulation, not a trial of Visium Pro, general tired eyes or healthy adults.
AREDS2 long-term follow-up (2022)
- Who was studied?
- 3,882 participants from the original AREDS2 cohort; follow-up extending to about 10 years.
- What was tested?
- Analyses used original randomized assignments; during follow-up, participants were offered the AREDS2 formulation.
- What did it find?
- The follow-up supported lutein/zeaxanthin as a replacement for beta carotene and reinforced the lung-cancer concern associated with beta carotene.
- What does that mean for Visium Pro?
- The extension was epidemiologic follow-up, not ten years of unchanged blinded supplementation. It does not establish benefits for an undisclosed proprietary blend.
Bilberry and night-vision crossover trial (2000)
- Who was studied?
- 15 young men with good vision.
- What was tested?
- 160 mg bilberry extract standardized to 25% anthocyanosides, three times daily for 21 days per treatment phase.
- What did it find?
- The trial found no improvement in night visual acuity or night contrast sensitivity compared with placebo.
- What does that mean for Visium Pro?
- A small, narrow population and a specific extract. It challenges a universal night-vision promise, but does not answer every possible bilberry question.
Bilberry and screen-task accommodation trial (2020)
- Who was studied?
- 109 healthy adults aged 20–60 were randomized.
- What was tested?
- 240 mg standardized bilberry extract daily for 12 weeks.
- What did it find?
- Some objective measures related to ciliary-muscle accommodation after a screen task improved versus placebo at specified visits.
- What does that mean for Visium Pro?
- This was not proof of disease reversal or improved night driving. Visium Pro does not disclose its individual bilberry dose or the matching extract standardization.
Funding context: the PubMed record identifies Omnica funding and employment of two authors by that company. This is relevant context, not a reason to discard the trial automatically. Read the full report and disclosures.
Ginkgo and normal-tension glaucoma trial (2003)
- Who was studied?
- 27 patients with normal-tension glaucoma and existing visual-field damage.
- What was tested?
- Ginkgo extract 40 mg three times daily; four-week crossover phases.
- What did it find?
- The investigators reported improved visual-field indices after the ginkgo phase.
- What does that mean for Visium Pro?
- A small, short trial cannot establish long-term preservation of vision. Its result was not consistently reproduced in the later trial below.
Ginkgo crossover trial (2014)
- Who was studied?
- 35 patients randomized; 28 completed testing.
- What was tested?
- Ginkgo extract 40 mg three times daily; two four-week phases with an eight-week washout.
- What did it find?
- Visual-field and contrast-sensitivity changes did not differ significantly by treatment.
- What does that mean for Visium Pro?
- The disagreement limits a confident benefit claim. Neither trial studied Visium Pro, and neither is a reason to stop prescribed glaucoma care.
Botanicals deserve the same scrutiny
For bilberry, NCCIH says the better-quality research has not demonstrated improved night vision in healthy people. For ginkgo, it describes inconclusive health-benefit evidence and clinically relevant interaction cautions. These are reasons to avoid presenting either ingredient as a guaranteed route to clearer eyesight. NCCIH: bilberry NCCIH: ginkgo
Descriptions such as “antioxidant,” “traditional use” or “supports circulation” do not by themselves show a meaningful improvement on an eye examination. The outcome measured in a study matters.
How should you interpret a positive, negative or conflicting result?
First identify the actual question. A trial of disease progression is not a trial of reading comfort, and an objective laboratory measure is not automatically the same as a meaningful change in daily life. Then check who was enrolled, the comparison treatment, the full formulation and the period of observation.
A positive result means the measured comparison favored the tested intervention under that study’s conditions. It does not establish that an untested commercial formula produces the same effect. A nonsignificant result means the study did not demonstrate the relevant difference; it does not prove that every possible effect is exactly zero.
The two ginkgo trials illustrate why selecting only a favorable paper would be misleading. The bilberry studies address different populations and endpoints, so a screen-task result should not be presented as proof of improved night driving. This review retains those distinctions rather than combining the findings into a success score.
Publication on PubMed is not a product approval, a guarantee of study quality or a recommendation to use the ingredient. The links make the research traceable. Interpretation still depends on design, results, limitations and relevance.
What would strengthen product-level evidence?
A current complete label, disclosed ingredient amounts and extract specifications, an authentic finished-product study with a relevant comparator, and batch-specific quality documentation would answer different remaining questions. One document would not replace all the others.
For a symptom-focused application of this distinction, read screen-time eye strain: practical checks before supplements.
Claims this review does not make
- That Visium Pro reverses glaucoma, cataracts, AMD or diabetic eye disease.
- That it replaces glasses, eye drops, surgery or an eye examination.
- That every ingredient is present at a dose shown effective in a trial.
- That everyone notices results after a set number of weeks.
- That an advertised refund policy proves clinical effectiveness.
Make the next decision specific
Take the label to an eye-care professional or pharmacist. Ask whether there is a nutritional reason for you to use this type of product, whether an interaction is relevant, and what outcome would meaningfully change your care. Keep any existing treatment unchanged unless its prescriber advises otherwise.
For buying details, use the price and seller guide. For practical habits, start with everyday eye care.
For broader questions, read who AREDS2 is intended for, the dry-eye supplement evidence guide or what different testing documents prove.
Check the sources
References & review materials
Linked research is context, not an endorsement of this product. Seller statements are not independent clinical evidence.
- Supplied Visium Pro Supplement Facts image ↗
Product label supplied for this review; verify against the bottle you receive.
- National Eye Institute: AREDS / AREDS2 questions ↗
Study populations, formula amounts and limits of the AREDS evidence.
- NCCIH: Bilberry ↗
Human evidence, night-vision claims and safety limitations.
- NCCIH: Ginkgo ↗
Evidence limitations, side effects and medication interactions.
- PMID 23644932 — AREDS2 randomized trial (2013)
Selected primary research; not a finished-product Visium Pro trial.
- PMID 35653117 — AREDS2 long-term follow-up (2022)
Selected primary research; not a finished-product Visium Pro trial.
- PubMed PMID 10767671 — Muth ER, Laurent JM, Jasper P. The effect of bilberry nutritional supplementation on night visual acuity and contrast sensitivity. Alternative Medicine Review, 2000.
Primary ingredient research, not a trial of the marketed Visium Pro formula. No improvement in night visual acuity or contrast sensitivity in the studied 15 men.
- PubMed PMID 32106548 — Kosehira M, Machida N, Kitaichi N. A 12-Week-Long Intake of Bilberry Extract (Vaccinium myrtillus L.) Improved Objective Findings of Ciliary Muscle Contraction of the Eye: A Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled, Parallel-Group Comparison Trial. Nutrients, 2020. DOI: 10.3390/nu12030600. Open full text in PMC.
Primary ingredient research, not a trial of the marketed Visium Pro formula. Specific screen-task accommodation measurements improved at specified visits; not a Visium Pro trial.
- PMID 12578781 — Ginkgo and normal-tension glaucoma trial (2003)
Selected primary research; not a finished-product Visium Pro trial.
- PubMed PMID 24282229 — Guo X and colleagues. Effect of Ginkgo biloba on visual field and contrast sensitivity in Chinese patients with normal tension glaucoma: a randomized, crossover clinical trial. Investigative Ophthalmology & Visual Science, 2014. DOI: 10.1167/iovs.13-13168.
Primary ingredient research, not a trial of the marketed Visium Pro formula. No significant treatment differences in visual-field or contrast-sensitivity changes; 35 randomized and 28 completed.
Published: